The European Consortium for Ocean Research Drilling (ECORD) was formally established in January 2002 through a concerted action of the European scientific community together with funding agencies to provide a single European-based entity in IODP.

Membership in ECORD is available to European (EU and non-EU) governmental and/or national agencies (or their representatives). Organisations from non-European countries may be invited to join the Consortium upon request. The Consortium is composed of 17 members: Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

Each ECORD member country is represented by one delegate on the ECORD Council. The participation of ECORD members in IODP is managed by the ECORD Managing Agency (EMA).

The Implementing Organisation in Europe is the ECORD Science Operator (ESO), which is the operational entity responsible for mission-specific platform (MSP) expeditions.  The ECORD Facility Board (EFB) is the planning forum for MSP expeditions and is responsible for scheduling drilling proposals and for advising on a long-term planning of ECORD’s expeditions.

The ECORD Science Support and Advisory Committee (ESSAC) is the science committee of ECORD and is responsible for the scientific planning and coordination of ECORD’s contribution to IODP.


Follow ECORD on Twitter and Facebook!

twitter_newbird_blue.jpg      fb_icon_325x325.png