Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
Log in
You are here: Home About

IODP in Canada

Canada’s involvement in scientific ocean drilling dates back to the early days of the Ocean Drilling Program (ODP), when Canada joined as a full member from 1985 to 1988. From 1989 onwards, Canada became part of an entity called the Pacific Rim Consortium (PACRIM) with Australia, Korea and Taiwan.

Canada joined the Integrated Ocean Drilling Program (IODP) in 2004 in partnership with the European Consortium for Ocean Research Drilling (ECORD). Our membership is supported by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and the Canadian Consortium for Ocean Drilling (CCOD), comprised of 13 Canadian universities.

Canadian participation in IODP and ECORD

Several Canadians have been selected to serve as representatives on ECORD and IODP committees and panels, thus providing expertise and input to the planning of scientific priorities and strategies.

Delegate: Anne de Vernal (UQAM) - vice-Chair: October 1, 2012 to March 31, 2013
Alternate: Kathy Gillis (UVic)

  • ECORD Science Support and Advisory Committee (ESSAC)

Delegate: Dominique Weis (UBC)
Alternate: Markus Kienast (Dalhousie)

  • ECORD Facility Board: Dominique Weis (UBC)


IODP Science Advisory Structure (SAS)

  • Scientific Technology Panel (STP): Douglas Schmitt (U. Alberta) - Chair
  • Site Characterization Panel (SCP): David Mosher (NRCan)


Canadian Achievements within IODP

As part of ECORD, Canada is an active member and many Canadian scientists are involved in IODP geoscience research projects and outreach activities.

Scientific Participation
Within the current program, 12 Canadian researchers have participated as shipboard scientists on 10 IODP expeditions across the full range of drilling platforms including the JOIDES Resolution – Anne de Vernal (North Atlantic Exp. 303), Neil Banerjee (Project Manager, Superfast Spreading Exp. 309 & 312), Michael Riedel (co-Chief, Cascadia Margin Exp. 311), Taoufik Radi (Bering Sea Exp. 323), Earl Davis, Martin Heesemann and Michael Riedel (Cascadia ACORK Exp. 328), Kathy Gillis (co-Chief, Hess Deep Exp. 345); the Chikyu – Gordon Southam (Deep Hot Biosphere Exp. 331), Christie Rowe and Tian Sun (Japan Trench Exp. 343); and the mission-specific platform L/B Kayd – Francine McCarthy and Heather Schijns (New Jersey Exp. 313). Next summer, Guillaume St-Onge will participate in Exp. 341 (Southern Alaska Margin).

Canadian scientists are very active in the ocean drilling community, and many are proponents of active drilling proposals. Canadians organized the recent IODP workshop “Coordinated Scientific Drilling in the Beaufort Sea,” which was attended by more than 70 scientists from several European, American and Asian countries. The workshop aimed to define the scientific questions and drilling strategies required to assess environmental change and geohazards in the Beaufort Sea.

Education and Outreach
The joint ECORD/ICDP/IODP-Canada Summer School “Impacts of Cryosphere Dynamics from Land to Ocean” was held July 5 - 21, 2012 in Québec. The school was very successful, with 19 students attending from Canada, Sweden, Denmark, the Netherlands, the UK, Greece and Belgium.  IODP-Canada also hosted the summer school “Ocean and climate changes in polar and subpolar environments” in 2010.  More about summer schools...

Canadian students receive awards from CCOD and ECORD to take part in the ECORD summer schools in Germany, Italy and Canada.  The CCOD also offers numerous merit-based scholarships to allow students and young researchers to present their research at conferences and carry out projects related to scientific ocean drilling.  More about scholarships...

IODP-Canada coordinates exhibition booths at conferences such as the AGU Joint Assembly 2009 (Toronto), GeoCanada 2010 (Calgary), GAC-MAC 2011 (Ottawa) and 2012 (St. John's) and Goldschmidt 2012 (Montréal), and organizes public events and tours of IODP drillships during portcalls, most recently in Victoria in July 2009 and September 2010.

Canadians have also been selected as one of three ECORD Distinguished Lecturers:

  • 2010-2012: Dominique Weis (UBC)
  • 2012-2014: Claude Hillaire-Marcel (UQAM)

More about the Distinguished Lecturer Program...

Document Actions